Susan Yeager

Celebrating the 2023 Nonprofits First’s Hats Off Awards Nominees

The Nonprofits First’s Lucky 7th Annual Hats Off Awards was a great event to celebrate the nominees whose shared passion is to make our communities better. Among them was Susan Yeager, our wonderful board member, who we nominated for the Volunteer of the Year Award. Susan joined our board of directors in 2011 and was voted in as chair-elect from 2017 to 2019. Even after her three consecutive three-year terms ended, Susan has continued to dedicate her time, talent, and resources to helping children and saving families, by actively participating in the Board Development Committee. “Susan has been one of the greatest advocates for our Boys Town mission in South Florida. She always has a smile on her face, a positive attitude, and the willingness to help in every way she can,” said Daniela Mesquita, Development Director.

Susan's contributions as a volunteer at Boys Town South Florida are the perfect example of dedication, generosity and teamwork. For more than a decade, Susan, and her husband David, contributed and volunteered at nearly every one of our Boys Town South Florida community event and campaign, including past galas, and more recently served as Champions for our Giving Tuesday, donating and volunteering at the Thanksgiving food distribution, and sponsoring our Halls of Hope data walk experience.

Regardless of the tasks, from event check-in and bagging donated food items to setting up silent auction baskets, Susan has always done it with enthusiasm, warmth, and a beautiful smile. Although she did not win the Volunteer of the Year Award from Nonprofits First, Susan is our winner at Boys Town, and we are truly grateful for her.

Boys Town South Florida is a member of Nonprofits First, which provides resources that increase the operational capacity and impact of nonprofit organizations in Palm Beach County. Nonprofits First’s prestigious Annual Hats Off Awards are given to incredible local leaders and volunteers in recognition of their support and achievements in serving our community.