Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content

​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​The Father ​Flanagan Award for Service to Youth, named for the organization's founder, Father Edward Flanagan, is given to individuals who dedicate themselves to helping children. The person must have made a significant contribution to the youth of our nation and continue to further influence young people by an exemplary public and private life.

The most recent recipient is professional golfer, Tom Lehman, for his work with numerous charities focused on improving children's lives.

The award is a 19-inch ​bronze ​​statue ​​of Father Edward Flanagan, created by artist Fred Hoppe and stands on a wooden base with a ​plate which bears the recipient's name.


Past ​recipients of the Father Flanagan Award for Service to Youth include:

  • Mother Teresa of Calcutta
  • Bob Hope
  • Dr. Jonas Salk
  • Danny Thomas
  • Julius Erving
  • Nancy Reagan
  • Dr. Denton Cooley
  • Michael Jordan
  • Laura Bush