Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content

Visit the Village

​​​​​​​​​​Photos Shared on ​Instagram

 
 

Village Drive

Two Brothers  

Drive through our community for abundant photo opportunities!

A drive through our community reveals trees, flowering gardens, farmland, open spaces, memorial statues, fountains and abundant photo opportunities. You’ll see how our children live, work, play and go to school. Entrances are located on West Dodge Road, 132nd Street, 144th Street and Pacific Street. Maps directing you to all of our attractions, including the Hall of History and Garden of the Bible, are available at the Visitors Center near the West Dodge Road entrance.

Garden of the Bible

Garden of the Bible  

Enjoy three acres of quiet and peace in the middle of the city.

The three-acre Garden of the Bible is maintained by Boys Town youth and includes rose bushes, lilies, the rose of Sharon, a burning bush, fountains, benches, and olive, fig, pomegranate and cedar trees.

In addition to its more than 150 plant species (all of which are mentioned in the Bible), the garden’s brick path forms a Gothic window design that complements the nearby Catholic and Protestant chapels. The picturesque surroundings are a favorite spot for visitors to enjoy quiet reflection, picnic lunches and Bible study.

Hall of History

Hall of History  

See our “Oscar” and other free exhibits in the award-winning Hall of History!

The Hall of History museum presents the unique history of Boys Town through permanent exhibits that use audio and video presentations. You’ll discover how Boys Town programs developed and how we continue our mission to change the way America cares for children and families.

The museum is located in the former Dining Hall built by Father Flanagan in 1939. Some of the artifacts on display include the Best Actor Oscar presented to Spencer Tracy for his role as Father Flanagan in the motion picture “Boys Town,” and the Flex bus that once carried Boys Town athletic teams across America. Visitors can listen to voices from the past to learn how Father Flanagan's revolution in child care began, and how Boys Town continues to work for America’s future.

Photos Shared on Instagram

 
 

Citizenship Day

Citizenship Day  

Experience hope as new residents of Boys Town begin their journey of healing.

Every child accepted into our campus residential care program is sworn in as a citizen of the Village of Boys Town. During this moving ceremony at the Visitors Center Café, the Executive Director of Boys Town asks the children what they hope to accomplish as Boys Town kids. It’s a wonderful opportunity to see young people begin their journey of renewal and healing. Read how one visitor was moved while he was at Boys Town for a conference . These ceremonies normally are scheduled on Fridays. Please contact the Visitors Center at 1-800-625-1400 for exact times and dates.

Father Flanagan House

Father Flanagan House  

Take a tour of Father Flanagan’s former residence and see many of his personal belongings.

The Father Flanagan House museum is the former residence of Boys Town’s founder, Father Edward Flanagan. The house was constructed in 1927 and was Father Flanagan’s home until 1941, when he moved to the rectory of Dowd Memorial Chapel. The Flanagan House’s décor and furnishings interpret the year 1929, when Father Flanagan would have been in residence. Many of his personal belongings are on display in his bedroom and study. One of his most prized possessions – a desk made for him by his boys – is the centerpiece of the study. It consists of more than 250,000 inlaid pieces of wood, thirty-nine varieties in all. A statue of Father Flanagan, a gift from the Boys Town National Alumni Association®, stands in front of the house surrounded by memorial bricks honoring Boys Town alumni.

Photos Shared on Instagram

 
 

Rose Garden

Rose Garden  

Hundreds of roses bloom in this 22-bed garden, which is tended by Village youth.

The garden’s roots date back to the 1930s when Father Flanagan encouraged gardening as a positive outdoor activity for children.

The garden is adjacent to the home where Father Flanagan lived and near a bronze statue honoring the man who dedicated his life to improving the lives of children around the world.

Dowd Memorial Chapel

Dowd Memorial Chapel  

Standing at the center of campus, Dowd Chapel is home to Father Flanagan’s tomb.

For more than 70 years, Dowd Memorial Chapel of the Immaculate Conception has stood at the center of the Village of Boys Town.

Rising from the landscape in the tradition of a 15th-century Gothic church, Dowd Chapel shines as a beacon of hope for thousands of children seeking comfort and consolation. The chapel is a symbol of our commitment to helping troubled youth find a positive balance of the spiritual, intellectual and physical.

The timeless beauty of Dowd Chapel’s Gothic influence is evident in the use of Indiana Bedford limestone inside and out. Strong buttresses line the nave and support a simple timber ceiling inside and a variegated English tile roof outside. Adjacent to the nave on the west side is the Father Flanagan Tomb. Boys Town’s famous founder is entombed in a bronze vault that briefly tells his life story to thousands of visitors every year. Father Flanagan often said, “Every child must learn to pray; how they pray is up to them.” Visitors are welcome to attend Mass at Dowd Chapel throughout the year.

The Leon Myers Stamp Center

The Leon Myers Stamp Center  

Home of the World’s Largest Ball of Stamps!

The Leon Myers Stamp Center is a museum and office located in the Boys Town Visitors Center. The Stamp Center promotes stamp collecting among youth and adults, and supports Boys Town programs by selling donated stamps.

Exhibits in the museum show stamps designed by kids, children on stamps, children’s fairy tales on stamps and a variety of educational and philatelic topics. The World’s Largest Stamp Ball, on display at the Stamp Center, is a favorite with children and adults alike. Next to the Stamp Ball, children can go through our “penny bin” and pick out colorful stamps for their collections.

Photos Shared on Instagram

 
 

Chambers Protestant Chapel

Chambers Protestant Chapel  

“Every child should learn how to pray, how they pray is up to them.”

The Herbert B. Chambers Protestant Chapel of the Nativity of Our ​Lord is the spiritual home for the Village’s Protestant youth. The chapel’s altar area is decorated with terra cotta tiles designed by Boys Town children. Other decorative highlights include cast-bronze gargoyles and stained-glass windows.

Chambers Chapel’s Gothic architecture was specifically chosen to complement Dowd Chapel. The chapels are linked by the three-acre Garden of the Bible.

Both chapels stand equidistant from the famous Two Brothers Statue that has become the symbol of the Village and Boys Town’s national presence. Visitors are welcome to attend services at Chambers Chapel throughout the year.

Worship Service: Sunday, 9:30 a.m.

Vistors ​Center/Gift Shop

Vistors Center  

Be sure to stop in to see one-of-a-kind collectibles and enjoy a meal at the Café!

Start your visit to Boys Town at our Visitors Center, located near the West Dodge Road entrance to the Village. Our café serves breakfast and lunch, and you can pick up information on guided, self-guided, QR code and audio tours at the front desk.

One-of-a-kind collectibles, commemorative souvenirs and inspirational keepsakes for the home and office are at your fingertips in our Gift Shop. Please browse our catalog for the best in distinctive gifts. All profits from the Gift Shop support the work of changing the way America cares for youth and families.

Photos ​Shared on Instagram

 
 
90% of your donation goes to save children Donate Now